Begin With the End in Mind

My grandmother is 89.  She is a vibrant 89 and has been fending off cancer for the past year.  We talk about dying quite a bit, about unfinished business, about love.  And I think about being in her place someday.

Her greatest joy in life, has been the time she spent gardening.  I know, because I ask her pesky questions all the time to see if she is satisfied with the life she has lived.  We don’t know how much longer she will be with us so we try to make every bit count.  She gives me tips like, “don’t save the good china for special occasions” and “don’t become overly reliant on what will be in the future, enjoy life now.”  And then we both usually end up in tears, laughing, or both.  My life has been blessed by the opportunity to get to know her really well, these last few years.

When I think of being at the end of my life, things get really clear.  For as long as I can remember I have felt personally affected by the struggle of the hungry and the very poor.  I did a project through the UNHCR as a teenager that solidified my passion for those struggling in the third world.   It was 16 years ago.  It still brings me joy!  And while the last 16 years have been about getting an education, starting a family, and (ugh) “finding myself” it has been too long since something felt as right as that did.   Is there a higher calling than To Do what you are here To Do? (No.)

My To Do is to help those living in the poorest places in the world get out of poverty.  To Do my part to bring awareness, love, and resources to people who need our help.   That is the Why of this fledgling blog.

An organization called Global Hope Network International facilitates village adoptions in very poor places worldwide.  They help adopted villages become self sustaining by partnering with the village to create infrastructure.  Water. Food. Income. Education. Health.  After the adoption period (3-6 years) the village can stand on its own.  They won’t be living in poverty anymore!  They will have what they need to be sustainable.  They will not just “eat for a day” but for the rest of their lives!

We can’t end all suffering.  But if we can prevent a little bit of it, isn’t that worth the small cost to us!?  So with the End in mind, I am setting out to help a little village in Ethiopia called Tuk’a.  We can call it 99 People for Tuk’a.  Lets find 99 People to adopt Tuk’a!

Because Caring is my Gardening!  What’s Yours?

8 Comments to “Begin With the End in Mind”

  1. Your post made me think about one of my favorite quotes –

    “The things to do are: the things that need doing, that you see need to be done, and that no one else seems to see needs to be done. Then you will conceive your own way of doing that which needs to be done.”

    – Buckminster Fuller (Feb 1970)

  2. What a wonderful idea! That’s great that you want to help people learn and be more sustainable. I always feel if people have the right tools and education can have a healthy sustainable life. I can’t wait to see your project blossom and develope! I will be following with great intrest. Do you already have your 99 supporters? I may be intrested. I would like more details! Thanks. I love your mission idea.

  3. Jennifer-
    I have 3 of the needed 100 supporters, myself included. One new supporter, signed on today after reading this blog! That is the mission of the blog, actually, to educate, inspire, and gather supporters for our “virtual village”. A supporter’s pledge is $12/month for a few years (3-6). It is very exciting to me that there is an affordable way to make a tangible difference! At some point, someone will be blogging from Tuk’a so that we can track their progress as they develop and hear their stories. I can’t wait to get started!
    Lily

  4. Hey Lilly!
    This is GREAT! I am so happy for you that you’ve started your blog!! YOU ROCK 🙂
    I can’t wait to see what kind of change and hope you inspire and create. There needs to be more people in this world like you!
    It is great to see someone with such passion and I think you for inspiring me to remember my own!
    LAUR 🙂

  5. Thanks Lauren!

    You rock too! I really loved your post about passionate curiosity http://www.themadtolive.com/2011/01/i-have-no-special-talents-i-am-only-passionately-curious/

    Being around all my new friends in twitterland got me to thinking that I should stop caring in isolation, and start caring more publicly! Thanks for the boost.

  6. Annmarie-

    I love Buckminster Fuller, great quote! Here is one of my favorites:

    People are often unreasonable, irrational, and self-centered. Forgive them anyway.
    If you are kind, people may accuse you of selfish, ulterior motives. Be kind anyway.
    If you are successful, you will win some unfaithful friends and some genuine enemies. Succeed anyway.
    If you are honest and sincere people may deceive you. Be honest and sincere anyway.
    What you spend years creating, others could destroy overnight. Create anyway.
    If you find serenity and happiness, some may be jealous. Be happy anyway.
    The good you do today, will often be forgotten. Do good anyway.
    Give the best you have, and it will never be enough. Give your best anyway.
    In the final analysis, it is between you and God. It was never between you and them anyway.
    (-this version is credited to Mother Teresa)

  7. I really love that you started a blog about your project. it helps the passion shine through. I’m still pondering the idea, though I am trying to save enough for my own vision and dream right now… that of having foster children. I will keep reading your inspiring words and will pass your idea along. Thanks for doing something. ANYTHING. ❤

    • Q!

      Thanks for the kind words! Let me know how i can help you realize your vision! Perhaps I could help connect you with some helpful peeps? I really appreciate the sweet feedback. 🙂

      Lily

Leave a Reply

